Tags

,

I started this blog a little more than a month ago, and I have learned some interesting things.  Here they are, in no particular order.

  • After you start your blog and discover that you have one follower, don’t run around the house screaming and celebrating like you just won the lotto.  Your first follower is… yourself.  Kind of like that Goofy song, “I’m my own Grandpa.” Parenthetically, whose idea was it to call them followers?  Jim Jones had followers.  So did Charlie Manson. Ditto David Koresh.  I just want friends.  Wait, I guess friends is taken.  I just want readers.
  • If you create categories for your blog posts, they will show up at the top of your post in the description.  I suppose if someone happens to put your category term into a search engine, they might blunder onto your website.  Then, if they aren’t bored senseless by your drivel, they will follow you?  I’m speculating about a lot of this, but as my friend E.S. says, “Fake it till you make it.”
  • Tags are similar to categories, but if you want your tags to be public, you have to put them into a widget.  A tag to me seems to be a sub-category, so I’m making them more specific, i.e. if the category is Ocean, the tag would be Underwater Basket Weaving.  I could have my tags and categories mixed up here, but again, FITYMI.
  • I have learned that a blog can be an avenue for conversation about topics that people care about.  This is one of the things I set out to learn when I started blogging, because my previous cursory examination of social media left me feeling like venues such as Facebook and Twitter were mainly outlets for shallow topics examined briefly.  Now I know that any media outlet can be the source of deep and meaningful interchange- you just have to work at it a little harder.

In the next month, I want to examine the following:

  • What is a pingback, and how and why would I use it?
  • What is the difference between blogging and being a blogger?  I am also thinking about the recursive nature of being a writer and being an author.
  • The RSS feed.  My brain’s a  flatline.   Will unravel the enigma at least a little this month.
  • My on again, off again, relationship with Facebook.

To my 12 follow/readers, I thank you for pressing the button and letting an email go to you every time I post.  That was just nice of you.  My Blogging 101 instructor, Dan Blank, questioned my real purpose for writing this blog, and who my audience would be.  My rhetorical answer was I don’t know.  I don’t know who my audience is.  I’m still trying to figure it out, but that’s okay.   I’m having fun, and I’ll figure out these deep philosophical questions later.

 

 

