Tags

, ,

This month, I’ll write holiday posts, but each post will be based on a word that speaks to the time of year to me.  Here are my words:

Week One: Fall

Week Two: Low

Week Three: Star

Week Four: Rose

What are some words that you associate with Christmas?

I’ll also be writing about poetry and written conversations on the Paus(ed) label, and have some fun with the Thursday Stretch posts. Since one of my goals for the month is to play with different visual formats, I created a found poem today using a photo that I took this weekend with an actual camera.  Here’s a sneak peek at my visual–

.The fall found poem (2)

It’s too small to read, so here is the script.

Fallen From Grace

A found poem by Joni Koehler

My sorrow, when she’s here with me against my ruins;

something of the grave almost, Fallen from God.

Bitter where it borders on the flame, the sword!

Containing depth within itself, darkness, shuddering, sinks lower and lower.

A fugitive running, where you feel it touching the first sounds that falter and fall,

as Lucifer fell.

She loves the bare, the death of sunlight, the withered tree.

Thanks to borrowed lines from Walt Whitman, T.S. Eliot, Alain Boubiel,  Rainer Maria Rilke, Robert Frost, and George Traki.

