Tags

, , , , , ,

Okay people, we didn’t take a walk last Saturday, March 28.  We were tired from our trip to Germany.  We mowed the lawn and took a long nap.

The grass was knee-high.

The grass was knee-high.

Super Husband shredded on the tractor and I mowed close to the house.  He had a much bigger job than I did, but I kept the laundry going.

Bailey the Bold

Bailey the Bold

We slept that afternoon just like the dog does– with utter abandonment and lots of snoring.

However, since today is Sunday and we DID have an interesting Sunday on March 21, here are some pictures of the “Sound of Music” portion of our trip to Salzburg, Austria.

The arbor at Mirabelle palace.

The arbor at Mirabelle palace.

Fountain in the Mirabelle Palace Gardens

Fountain in the Mirabelle Palace Gardens

Channeling Julie Andrews

Channeling Julie Andrews- I’m the one in the brown coat.

For those of you who know me personally, I was sorely tempted to sing, “Do, a Deer,” while standing in the self-same locations which Julie Andrews (!) stood while filming The Sound of Music.  I squelched myself, because (1) the guide said singing season was in the summer, (2)because I was the only gobsmacked choir nerd in my tour group,  and (3) the tour was rather hurried, so I’d have been left behind if I’d have started singing.

In the summer, people appear dressed in their Sound of Music garb and the Mirabelle palace Garden is alive with the sounds of amateur singing troops, professional musicians, and student players from the Mozarteum, an elite music school located in Salzburg, Mozart’s home city.

Now added to my bucket list:

  • Acquire Austrian Folk Garb
  • Return to Salzburg in the summer
  • Sing with the other gobsmacked choir nerds!  Sing!

