Tags

, , , ,

Last Saturday, our rambles took us to the San Antonio Book festival and San Pedro Park.

This Chihully is on the second floor of the San Antonio Main Library

This Chihuly is on the second floor of the San Antonio Main Library

I love buying books at festivals because I can meet the authors up close and personal.  I love saying, “Are you a local writer?”  Someday I would love to be the person standing behind a folding table, signing my own books and saying, “Yes, I live just down the road.”

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I purchased:

Gods Of Arcadia:Daughter of Athena by Andrea Stehle, mainly because her former student, now a college freshman,sold me with her unvarnished praise, both for her teacher and this title. If she likes it, then the students I work with might like it, too.

Local professor and novelist, Eva Pohler, sold me The Purgatorium and Vampire Addiction.  It was her enthusiasm for both of these projects that made me want to buy them.

I’m also a sucker for art/text pairings, so I purchased Dare to Dream, a collaboration between local artist Thom Ricks and author J.L. Stauffer.  I will be using this book in a classroom sometime soon, I’m sure.  This colorful poster now graces my office wall.

Thom Ricks- The Explorer

The Explorer by Thom Ricks

After we went to the book festival, we took a short drive to San Pedro Springs Park.  Neither of us had ever been, so we took a quick look.  The springs were dry, but I found a few picture worthy subjects.

San Pedro Park marker for weekend walk

Pool at San Pedro Park for weekend Walk

The pool at San Pedro Springs

A mated pair of birds- their nest was in the tree.

A mated pair of birds- their nest was in the tree.

