Tags

, , , ,

April 28, 2015 marked the end of my eighth month as a blogger.  While I’m still struggling with consistency and keeping pace with my internal schedule for posts, April, like the four months before it, was a time of slow, steady growth of the site. I now have 92 followers. If I had 100 by the end of August, I would be happy. I know that those numbers may seem paltry to some, but I come into this spot with no expectations. Super Husband constantly reminds me that I’m blogging for fun, not to have something else to beat myself over the head with.

Here are some of the things I noticed in the month of April.

  • I am still trying to find ways to balance part-time work and writing. In the last couple of months the job has taken more of my time than I anticipated.  Even though I still have plenty of time to write, my creative well has been dry. Perhaps this is due in part to my body’s muscle memories from the end of the last twenty-three school years.
  • I also need to learn to handle responses (or non-responses) to posts that I did not anticipate. The post I wrote about my visit to Dachau did not get much response.  In fact, the posts I quickly put up to explain my lack of comments on other posts got more reads than this piece of writing that I spent a great deal of time thinking through.  I have no regrets about this post—it’s a documentation of how I interpreted my experience, a snapshot of my thinking that my children will be able to read when I’m gone.  I just need, perhaps, to learn to take it more in stride when others don’t see the value in some of my ideas.  Writing is risking, and I’m determined to keep sticking my neck out even if it gets whacked.

In May, I plan to write two more posts about my trip to Germany.  Then I’m going to start a series of posts inspired by other posts I have read in the month of April.

Here’s what I’ll be writing about:

I hope everything is copacetic in your world today.  Thanks, as always, for your support.

